IF YOU DON’T KNOW WHO THE MEAL IS, IT’S PROBABLY YOU

Today’s Hartford Herald reports on Guy DeVillepion, a newspaper correspondent during the Russian-Japanese War, who was “fattened for a feast by cannibals while attempting to cross from Ciudad to Buenos Ayres,” but managed to escape:

“They were a strange people,” he said, “and appeared to be half man and half ape.  I have no doubt that they meant to eat me.  I was mystified by all their kindness until I saw that it was all directed to the end of getting me fat.  Then I thought I had better leave, and I did.”

Hopefully Mr. DeVillepion or someone else will one day write a book (or two) about cannibalism (or, more politely, “person consumption”).  Surely as our society evolves, this barbaric practice will soon become extinct.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

